Fall 2017 Study Abroad & Internship Fair

Fair

Thinking about studying or interning abroad? Now is your chance to learn about opportunities available at UC Davis!

The UC Davis Study Abroad & Internship Fair is intended to help students who are considering education abroad opportunities. UC Davis Study Abroad and the Internship and Career Center (ICC) will host this year's fair on Thursday, October 5, 2017 on the West Quad from 11:00 AM to 2:00 PM. The purpose of the fair is to inform students about opportunities to study, work, and intern in areas all over the world. The fair provides resources for UC Davis study and internship program opportunities as well as many non-UC Davis options (organizations from all over the world will be traveling to campus).

At the fair, students can:

  • Talk with study and intern abroad alumni about their experiences
  • Discuss with advisors programs that will meet individual needs
  • Chat with Financial Aid representatives about scholarships and financial aid availability

This event is held once a year on the West Quad. 
Don't miss it!

rsvp

facebook

Thursday, October 5, 2017
11:00 AM - 2:00 PM
West Quad, UC Davis

Questions?

Please contact the event coordinator, Blake N. Cooper, at 530-752-5681 or bncooper@ucdavis.edu

In addition to the Study Abroad & Internship Fair at the West Quad, there will be workshops offered throughout the day (tentative)...

Fair-Day Workshops

Why You Should Study Abroad

If you have ever thought, "Study Abroad isn't for me," then this session is for you. Diversity Abroad will lead the discussion in identifying how important it is for more diverse American students to pursue opportunities abroad. We will explore the many reasons why study abroad is beneficial for all student identities, regardless of your ethnicity, socioeconomic status, or major (to name a few). Learn about the ways study abroad sets you apart fom others - personally, professionally, and academically - and how you will be a more competitive candidate in your future career goals. 10am-11am, MU Garrison

Financial Aid for Study Abroad 

Are you interested in study abroad but are afraid you can’t afford it? Come to our Financial Aid for Study Abroad workshop and learn how financial aid works for students planning to go abroad in one of our programs. We will show you where to find all of our program budgets and how they are structured so you can determine what is included in the program fees. We will also share online tools to help you budget and talk about scholarships available for study abroad. 11am-12pm, MU Garrison

International Scholarships to Study Abroad

Scott Palmer is the Prestigious Scholarship Advisor for UC Davis who guides students through each step in the process of applying for prestigious scholarships.  Scott will be presenting on Prestigious Scholarships that cover funding for experiences abroad. Come learn about the Boren, Critical Language Scholarship (CLS) and Gilman Scholarships. 12pm-1pm, MU Garrison

Interning Abroad: From Start to Depart!

Review program types and options; identify your next planning steps and timeline; review funding options; share resources; address your questions and concerns. 1pm-2pm, MU Garrison

SpokenWorld: Telling Our Global UC Davis Stories

You have traveled and met people, you have stories to tell and an ear for other people’s stories. Come workshop your story with us and hear our stories too. With a little preparation you can have a personal story ready to tell. Your stories might illustrate how you were changed, the people you met, and the places you discovered. A little storytelling practice could pay off when regaling friends...or even help set you apart in job interviews. Spoken word, first-person nonfiction is popular now on podcasts ranging from This American Life to The Moth Radio Hour.  We guarantee you will walk away knowing yourself and your story better. 2pm-3pm, MU Garrison

Service-Learning Abroad: Why, Where, and How 

Come hear from the experts that organize international volunteer opportunities that create a positive impact in communities around the world. Find out how and why you should consider a service-learning program, learn about responsible travel and how to select the right program. Program and project opportunities include Animal Care and Rescue, Child and Family Development, Community Agriculture, Education and Literacy, Environment and Conservation and Health Care, to name a few. 2pm-3pm, MU Fielder

UC Davis Study Abroad & Internship Fair Attendee List

Academic Programs Abroad www.apaparis.com/
ACCENT International www.accentintl.com
Across the Pond www.studyacrossthepond.com
African Impact www.africanimpactservicelearning.com
AtSkool & Abroad Internships www.abroad-internships.com
Barcelona Study Abroad Experience (SAE) www.barcelonasae.com
Ben-Gurion University www.bgustudyabroad.org
Camp Adventure Youth Services www.campadventure.com
CAPA The Global Education Network www.capa.org
CEA Study Abroad www.ceastudyabroad.com/
Center for International Studies Abroad (CIS) www.cisabroad.com
Concordia University Irvine www.cui.edu/maischina
Cultural Homestay International (CHI) www.chinet.org/ecva
Diversity Abroad www.diversityabroad.com
EF International Language Centers www.ef.edu/ils
FIE: Foundation for International Education www.fie.org.uk
KEI Abroad www.keiabroad.org/
German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) www.daad.org
Hebrew University of Jerusalem overseas.huji.ac.il/
IES Abroad www.iesabroad.org
Institute for American Universities iaufrance.org
Institute for Field Research www.ifrglobal.org
International Studies Abroad www.studiesabroad.com
Japan Exchange & Teaching Program www.us.emb-japan.go.jp/JET
Loyola University Chicago Global Centers www.luc.edu/globalcenters
Lund University, Sweden lunduniversity.lu.se
Maximo Nivel www.maximonivel.com
New York Film Academy www.nyfa.edu
Osaka University www.osaka-u-sf.org/
Peace Corps www.peacecorps.gov
Sea|mester www.seamester.com
Semester at Sea www.semesteratsea.org
Spanish Studies Abroad www.spanishstudies.org
Sotheby's Institute of Art www.sothebysinstitute.com/
South India Term Abroad www.sitaprogram.org/
Technion - Israel Institute of Technology www.technion.ac.il/en/
UC Berkeley Summer Sessions & Study Abroad studyabroad.berkeley.edu
UC Davis ARC Business Center (Passport Office) https://cru.ucdavis.edu
UC Davis Internships Abroad studyabroad.ucdavis.edu
UC Davis Internship & Career Center icc.ucdavis.edu
UC Davis Quarter Abroad quarterabroad.ucdavis.edu
UC Davis Seminars Abroad seminarsabroad.ucdavis.edu
UC Davis Summer Abroad summerabroad.ucdavis.edu
UC Education Abroad Program (UCEAP) www.uc.eap.ucop.edu
UC Riverside - Extension www.extension.ucr.edu
University of Bristol www.bris.ac.uk
University of Sussex www.sussex.ac.uk/iss
University of Melbourne www.unimelb.edu.au
University of Sydney sydney.edu.au
U.S. Department of State careers.state.gov
Wildlands Studies www.wildlandsstudies.com
World Endeavors www.worldendeavors.com